Wonder about the primary task of a statesman? Then watch Delegate Bob Marshall, and check out Marshall sees his primary task as protecting our rights. Here is an example.

ALERT: Stop Indefinite Detention of American Citizens!

Under the recent passed 2012 federal Defense Authorization Act American citizens may be indefinitely detained, incarcerated, not presented with charges and denied counsel based on an accusation by federal agents of collaboration with or support of terrorists.

While Virginia cannot directly undo this purported law which undermines the Sixth Amendment, I introduced HB 1160 which will prevent the use of any Virginia agency or member of the Virginia National Guard or Virginia Defense Force to assist in any way to unlawfully detain a citizen of Virginia on behalf of the United States Government in violation of the Constitution of Virginia.

Because of this act of moral and constitutional violence masquerading as a law, agencies of the Federal government can detain citizens without a warrant and without a trial who are just accused of being terrorists.

This evil has come to America and Virginia must not participate in it. My HB 1160 would keep Virginia from adulterating the rights of our citizens. If Congress wishes to play the prostitute with the US Constitution, Virginia must remain faithful to our moral roots by passing my HB 1160.

That is why you must contact members of the Courts of Justice Civil Law Subcommittee Wednesday morning and afternoon. The contact information for the members of the subcommittee and the members of the full committee are below. Please contact all of them in support of this legislation.

Thanks for your support!

Delegate Bob Marshall

Courts of Justice Civil Law Subcommittee

Chairman Sal Iaquinto 804-698-1084
Delegate Terry Kilgore 804-698-1001
Delegate Manoli Loupassi 804-698-1068
Delegate Gregory Habeeb 804-698-1008
Delegate Peter Farrell 804-698-1056
Delegate Randy Minchew 804-698-1010
Delegate Joe Johnson 804-698-1004
Delegate David Toscano 804-698-1057
Delegate Jennifer McClellan 804-698-1071

Remaining Courts of Justice Committee Members

Chairman Dave Albo 804-698-1042
Delegate Robert Bell 804-698-1058
Delegate Ben Cline 804-698-1024
Delegate Todd Gilbert 804-698-1015
Delegate Jackson Miller 804-698-1050
Delegate Ronald Villanueva 804-698-1021
Delegate Richard Morris 804-698-1064
Delegate Vivian Watts 804-698-1039
Delegate Charniele Herring 804-698-1046